desseinsdiplomatiques

Desseins diplomatiques

A mouse gets lost in the archives of the league of nations in Geneva. She is going back to time, and discovers the history of this organization, which inspired much of the United Nations organization (UNO).

About the film

“Diplomatic Designs” is based on real archives (posters, drawings etc.) of the time of the League of Nations, most of which come from the Palais des Nations in Geneva, the former headquarters of the League and the current european United Nations office.

The film was produced by Rec Productions (Philippe Calame) in co-production with the master film of the hochschule luzern. Wilson

The League of Nations

The small city of Geneva, in Switzerland, has almost become the capital of the world! Indeed, it is the president of the U.S.A., Woodrow Wilson, who personally insists that the headquarters of the league of nations be established in Geneva. The League was the first world organization for peace and security. A unique multilateral discussion platform, described in the 14th point of Wilson’s famous speech in front of Congress to avoid a new world war like that of 1914-1918.

Unfortunately, and despite some notable successes, the League of Nations will be remembered as a resounding failure. Its creation did not prevent the horrors of the World war 2. In its place, and on the basis of it, the victorious states of war will make their own alliance a new international organization for peace and security: the United Nation Organization (UNO)

banniere

It was a hard challenge to tell you the complex history of the League of Nations in 07 min 35. So eventhough, I had the chance to be supported by an historian, there are somme informations that are not quite precise. You will find some correction (in french) here.

posterfilm

Realease of the film

The film was screened for the first time at the Palais des Nations in Geneva; the second united nations headquarters in the order of importance (after New York). These open doors were held on October 07, 2017, and the film was presented in the exhibition hall devoted to the history of the league of nations. It is now shown on a permanent basis with other films.

During these open doors, the film was accompanied by the original archives and interviews (a historian and a united nations official whose father was an important secretary of the league) that I filmed for the occasion with the help of Mr. Jeanrenaud, Christian haab and Mr. Beetschen for sound.

The film was also broadcast at the well-known Hiroshima Animation 2018 film festival in the out-of competition Programs “Best of the world” and “Star of students”, as well as at the “Les Sommets du film d’animation de Montréal (Canada)”. The film was also selected for the Swiss competition at Animatou and “We the people film festival”, BFI in United Kingdom.

chut

Crédits

For reasons of rights (especially for broadcast in festival), unfortunately, I can’t put the film at your disposal, but only its trailer. You will find in ” news “ the dates and places of broadcasts. The film is also referenced by swissfilms. The realization of this film has been a real teamwork. Tarek Schmidt made the great music of the film you can listen here. it is Thomas Gassman with the help of Rebecca Rubelli and Marion Nyffenegger who performed the soundtrack. Aline Höchli and Lukas Suter each animated a scene from the film. The project was followed by mentor Jochen ehman. You will find the full credits of the film here.

desseinsdiplomatiques

Desseins diplomatiques

Une petite souris se perd dans les archives de la Société des Nations à Genève. Suivre ses traces c’est remonter le temps, et découvrir l’histoire de cette organisation qui inspira en grande partie la création de l’Organisation des Nations unies (O.N.U).

animation, société des Nations

A propos du film

“Desseins diplomatiques” s’inspire d’archives réelles du temps de la Société des Nations, dont la plupart proviennent sont stockées au Palais des Nations à Genève, l’ancien siège de la S.d.N et l’actuel office européen des Nations unies.

Il a été produit par Rec productions (Philippe Calame) en co-production avec le Master film de la Hochschule Luzern. Wilson

La Société des Nations

La petite ville de Genève, en Suisse, est presque devenue la capitale du monde ! En effet, c’est le président Etat-unien, Woodrow Wilson, qui insiste personnellement pour que le Siège de la Société des Nations soit établi à Genève. Il s’agit là de la première organisation mondiale pour la paix et la sécurité. Une plateforme de discussion multilatérale unique en son genre, décrite dans le 14ème point du célèbre discours de Wilson devant le congrès pour éviter une nouvelle guerre mondiale comme celle de 1914-1918.

Malheureusement, et malgré quelques succès notables, la Société des Nations restera dans les mémoires comme un échec cuisant. Sa création n’a pas empêché les horreurs de la seconde guerre mondiale. A sa place, et en s’en inspirant, les Etats vainqueurs de la Guerre feront de leur propre alliance une nouvelle organisation internationale pour la paix et la sécurité: l’O.N.U.

banniere

Difficile de raconter une histoire aussi riche et complexe que celle de la Société des Nations en 7 minutes 35 ! Malgré toutes les recherches et le soin apporté à l’élaboration du film (notamment grâce à l’aide de M. Pierre-Etienne Bourneuf, historien), ce dernier contient donc quelques imprécisions. Vous trouverez un rectificatif en cliquant ici.

posterfilm

Diffusion du film

Le film a été projeté la première fois aux portes ouvertes du Palais des Nations à Genève; le deuxième siège de l’ONU dans l’ordre d’importance (après New-york). Ces portes ouvertes avaient lieux le 07 octobre 2017. Le film y était présenté dans la salle d’exposition consacré à l’histoire de la Société des Nations. Il y est maintenant montré en permanence, au choix avec d’autres films.

Durant ces portes ouvertes, le film était accompagné des archives originales ainsi que des interviews (un historien et un fonctionnaire Onusien dont le père était un secrétaire importante de la SdN) que j’ai filmé pour l’occasion avec l’aide de M. Jeanrenaud, Christian Haab et M. Beetschen pour le son.

Le film a également été diffusé au prestigieux festival du film d’animation de Hiroshima 2018 dans les programmes hors compétitions “Best of the world” et “Star of students” et lors des Sommets du film d’animation de Montréal (Canada). Il a été sélectionné pour la compétition Suisse du festival Animatou 2018 et qu festival “We the people” en Grande-Bretagne.

chut

Crédits

Pour des raisons de droits (liées notamment à la diffusion en festival), je ne peux malheureusement pas vous mettre le film à disposition, mais seulement son trailer. Vous trouverez dans “actualités” les dates et lieux de diffusions. Le film est également référencé sur la page de swiss films La réalisation de ce film aura été un véritable travail d’équipe. Tarek Schmidt a réalisé la formidable musique du film que vous pourrez écouter ici. C’est Thomas Gasmmann avec l’aide de Rebecca Rübeli et Marion Nyffenegger qui ont réalisé la bande sonore. Aline Höchli et Lukas Suter ont quant à eux chacune animé une scène du film. Le projet a été suivi par le mentor Jochen Ehmann. Vous trouverez les crédits complets du film ici.